Established in 2014, the French as a Second Language Consortium is made up of ministers of education across Canada, with the exception of Quebec, whose mandate is to support and promote student achievement as it relates to learning French as a second language.

While provinces and territories are uniquely responsible for the development and implementation of FSL programs, the Consortium endeavors to realize the following collaborative goals:

  • identify common challenges faced by provinces and territories in the area of FSL programming;
  • understand the current status of FSL education across Canada;
  • and promote the enhancement of students’ school performance in FSL programs. 

FSL in Canada: Potential for Collaboration

In an effort to provide an overview of issues in FSL teaching and learning that are “top of mind” across Canada, the FSL Consortium released a report titled FSL in Canada: Potential for Collaboration (2015). This document, compiled by a team of consultants from the Canadian Association of Second Language Teachers (CASLT), presents the strengths and challenges of FSL teaching and learning and identifies areas for potential collaboration among provinces and territories with a goal of improving FSL education.

Engagement of French-as-a-Second-Language Learners and Stakeholders

Building on the findings and recommendations in the 2015 report, FSL in Canada: Potential for Collaboration, the Consortium developed a project entitled “Engagement of French-as-a-Second-Language Learners and Stakeholders,” a pan-Canadian initiative whose aim is to improve student retention in FSL programs by considering student motivation, student confidence, and learner autonomy. The project’s main objective is to produce a series of videos to inspire FSL teachers across Canada and provide them with suggestions and self-study ideas about effective FSL practices by preparing an on-line guide for exploration and self-study. The projected release date for this project is fall 2018.

Funds for this project have been provided by participating jurisdictions through CMEC and by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage. All provinces and territories participate in the above projects with the exception of Quebec.